Board of Trustees

Texas law grants the board of trustees the power to govern and oversee the management of the district’s schools. The board is the policy-making body within the district and has overall responsibility for the curriculum, school taxes, annual budget, employment of the superintendent and other professional staff, and facilities. The board has complete and final control over school matters within limits established by state and federal laws and regulations. The board of trustees is elected by the citizens of the district to represent the community’s commitment to a strong educational program for the district’s children. Board members are elected and serve three-year terms. Board members serve without compensation, must be qualified voters, and must reside in the district.

The board usually meets the third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at Robinson ISD Administration Building. Special meetings may be called when necessary. A written notice of regular and special meetings will be posted on the district Web site and at Robinson ISD Administration Building at least 72 hours before the scheduled meeting time. The written notice will show the date, time, place, and subjects of each meeting. In emergencies, a meeting may be held with a two-hour notice. All meetings are open to the public. In certain circumstances, Texas law permits the board to go into a closed session from which the public and others are excluded. Closed session may occur for such things as discussing prospective gifts or donations, real-property acquisition, certain personnel matters including employee complaints, security matters, student discipline, or consulting with attorneys regarding pending litigation.

TASB:  Who Is A School Board Member?

TASB:  Resources for Board Candidates

TASB:  Other Sources of Information

Board Meeting Schedule for 2018

January 22 
February 19 
March 19 
April 16 
May 21 
June 18 
July 16 
August 27 
September 17 
October 15 
November 12 
December 17

Board Meeting Schedule for 2019

January 22
February 18 
March 25 
April 15 
May 20 
June 17 
July 15 
August 26 
September 16 
October 21 
November 18 
December 16

Notices and Policies

Notice for School Board Election Application

Robinson ISD Board Goals

Robinson ISD Board Operating Procedures

School Board Meeting Notices, Agendas, and Minutes

Robinson ISD Board Policy Online

RISD 2018-2019 Board of Trustees

Kevin Kenny, Keith Helpert (Secretary), Justin Wiese (Vice-President), Laura Crawford (President), Jabo Rubin, Jeff Strain, and Barry Gann.

Place 1
Kevin Kenner Kenny

Place 2
Justin Calvin Wiese  (Vice-President)

Justin Calvin Wiese (RHS Class of 1991) was elected to the Board in 2011 and is currently serving as the Board's vice-president.  He is Project/Operations Manager of Triton Metal Works in Robinson.  Justin is a member of the American Cancer Society (22 years) and the Associated General Contractors of America.  He has also been involved with Little Rocket Football for 14 years and serving as president for the past 10 years.  Justin received degrees in Business from McLennan Community College and Tarleton State University.

Justin is married to Stacye Hailey Wiese (RHS Class of 1992).  Their son Tanner will graduate from RHS in 2019 and their daughter Hailye will graduate from RHS in 2026.  Justin is a member of Meadowbrook Baptist Church.

Place 3
Barry Gann

Place 4
Jeff Strain

Place 5
Laura Crawford  (President)

Laura Crawford was elected to the Board in 2009 and is currently serving as the Board's president.  She is Co-Owner of Texas MHC, LLC (a multi-family rental housing management company for manufactured housing communities).  Laura is a member of the Robinson Education Foundation (Founding Board Member), the McLennan County Bar Association, and the American Bar Association.  Laura received her A.A. in Business Administration from Palm Beach Junior College, B.A. in Business Administration from Baylor University, and J.D. from St. Mary's University.

Laura is married to Michael Crawford and they have 2 children.  Christopher graduated from RHS in 2008 and Kimberly graduated from RHS in 2013.  Laura is a member, lay leader, Chancel Choir, and VBS Director of Robinson Drive United Methodist Church.

Place 6
Jabo Rubin

Place 7
Keith Helpert  (Secretary)

Keith Helpert (RHS Class of 1997) was elected to the Board in 2014 and is currently serving as the Board's secretary.  He is President/Owner of K4 Construction.  Keith graduated Summa Cum Laude from Baylor University in Business Administration.

Keith is married to Jamie Helpert (RHS Class of 1997) and they have 3 children.  Colton, Kinley, and Cason will graduate from the RHS Classes of 2021, 2024, and 2026 respectively.

Mission Statement

In partnership with parents and the community, Robinson ISD will prepare students for a fulfilling and productive life by empowering them to perform with academic excellence and personal responsibility and to exhibit characteristics of compassion and integrity needed to contribute to society and succeed in all endeavors.

Vision Statement

Robinson ISD will develop leaders and productive citizens by cultivating a passion for learning and a desire for excellence.


Every Student Every Day